What a summer/what a bummer and what’s for dinner? (part 1 -long post)

bummer_vacation

This has been one for the books. So let’s jump right into the whingeing, shall I?

Illness

So I’ve spent a fair bit of time this summer being sick and recovering from being sick. The only reason I’ve time to write today is because I have a cold and I don’t wanna give it to others, so I can’t go and do things, but I’m not so sick I’m gonna stay in bed all day. Studmuffin has had this cold far worse than I – I think I’ll be fine by Friday.

cattoungue

feeling yucky….

No, the mostest, worstest sickness I got was for about the first 2 weeks of August. High fever, then mega-chills, all over aches – I mean even my eyelashes hurt when I blinked. And I could not sleep for more than 30 mins to a hour at a time for nearly 2 weeks. I even went to the doctor, knowing that he probably could not help – it was a virus I was certain- but if it was one of the ‘named’ viruses*, I could be at least a public health statistic. But no dice – no help and an un-named virus, but he still took my co-pay (which has gone up about 30%) and suggested I come back in a few days if I was still sick. HAH!  I really considered going to the hospital, but then I remembered 2 things: I never get any rest in the hospital -someone always wants to ask you something or stick a needle into you the moment you’ve dropped off to sleep, and hospital stays are very expensive.

A friend from the next town over was in the process of dying, and I had previously promised his wife that I would sing at his funeral. He passed away & I was too sick to even go to the funeral, much less sing.  This is something I will regret for the rest of my life. Though I am very thankful that Studmuffin went in my place. No, he did not sing.

I lost 15 lbs. in 12 days I was so sick. I cannot ever remember feeling worse….and I was sick for all 9 months of my last pregnancy!

____

*Zika, Swine, H1N1,Bird, Spanish,Influenza and so on

bummerdwight

Tomato shortage

So I’m still learning how to manage the moisture levels in my keyhole garden, especially since it’s been so bloody HOT.  I really like hot weather, generally speaking, but yesterday it was 94º F/34.4ºC and it has been this way since June. Since I was so ill, doing a bunch of travelling and busy with other stuff, the garden has been nearly completely neglected for 2 months and so has suffered in a big way. Most of my tomato plants DIED. The one out in the front garden has only recently started actually setting tomatoes; it’s been too bloody HOT for this tropical plant to set fruit. So I have actually had to buy tomatoes, and I didn’t get ANY squash either.  Since I’m sick now, I have not yet put the dirt into the second keyhole garden that I have planned all summer to plant with cool weather vegs.  Today is the first day of somewhat more normal temps and it’s supposed to last for a while, but I’m sick and I cannot go out and garden…..I’m super frustrated.

babyoh-no

“Lettuce” shortage

Lettuce = money. Because several factors/people beyond my own personal control, I do not have room in my budget for things I used to do. This pisses me off! A dear friend, who used to live nearby, got married this summer – I was supposed to sing at her wedding – and I did not have the moola to do it. Something else I will regret for the REST OF MY LIFE.

I like this even better than the better known Grumpy cat.

I like this cat even better than the better known Grumpy cat. Its name is Koryiko.

Abuses of Power & The Chaos Masquerade

Anyone who follows me on Facebook will have some idea about this already… I am so furiously angry with the murders of unarmed people of color – don’t get me wrong, I am angry about all police murders – but for decades black communities everywhere in North America have complained about police and been brushed off and told that evidence is needed for prosecution and justice. Well we’ve got evidence – piles of it – and still the cops are not prosecuted!!!! If any white person thinks that this is not something that concerns them, I’d like to remind them – if they are old enough – what we used to say about the Soviet Union, South Africa during apartheid and Iron Curtain countries…about the police state they lived in, the number of people imprisoned for NO good reason, how people would just somehow die in police custody…. Lord Acton I believe is the one who said:

Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.

If the power of the police continues to grow unchecked, I think we will all be very,very sorry. Believe me, I could go on and on, and if I hear one more clueless white person say “all lives matter”, my head may fricken explode.

chu_matters

And “the Chaos Masquerade” is what I am calling the current Presidential election campaign. I do not belong to any party; I am a free thinker and I believe that partisan politics are *inherently* divisive so I will never join any party. I am concerned with politics & elections and I encourage everyone to vote, regardless of your political stance, no matter what it is. I have to say that this particular campaign has been absurd in the extreme and has become a race to the bottom. Sickening.

Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.

– Abraham Lincoln

I still do not know whom I will vote for for President; I am strongly considering writing someone in…….maybe these guys?

billopusclassiccampaignt

(Click here for Part 2 and What’s for dinner)

Leave a Reply

