Happy birthday to me!

Yup – I had a birthday last weekend and I’m VERY GLAD to be ALIVE for another year.  I even got some prezzies!!! I got  some books, some earrings and some YARN!

Perhaps I don’t need quite this many candles…..

And instead of cake, I ate a WHOLE package of sugar-free peanut butter wafer cookies. It might not sound celebratory or decadent to you but I really dug it! Then the next day, I went up to southern Tennessee and did some singing with New Jubilee Baha’i Gospel Choir; Studmuffin came along as a gift to me.  I even had somebody tell me that I don’t look as old as my age – for REAL!  That’s never happened to me before.  All good for me on the birthday front!!

So here’s some photos (which I did not take myself FYI)  of the yarns I got:

From the delightful Fiber Art Work store here in “Silicon Holler”:

Zumie by HiKoo – Super Bulky weight yarn in crimson

Pixie Sock by Dragonfly Fibers in Red Bud

Awesome Blossoms Peppino by Rhichard Devrieze (actually this picture is of a different colorway -Plum pickings- but it’s much closer than all the pictures I took so there ya go).

And from Michael’s, I got:

Tizzy by Bernat in white

Lastly from Catawampus Farms on Etsy I got:

Spring Iris Special Delivery Sock by Catawampus Farm

Violet Special Delivery Sock by Catawampus Farm

The last two were on a SUPER sale and they are not only gorgeous colors but they are my favorite kind of sock yarn – 80% Merino wool, 10% nylon, 10% cashmere (a.k.a.  MCN).  SO wonderful!  The red and the white yarns are getting knitted already into a Santa hat that I think the Force of Nature might like. 🙂

I’m gonna be traveling with the famdamily up to Wild Wonderful West Virgina over Christmas, and then on to regular wonderful Virginia for New Year’s, so I’m not certain I’ll write anymore posts in 2014. It all depends on how busy I am (yes, I’m doing crazy Christmas knitting -LIKE A FIEND)  and if I get some Wi-fi someplace…oh yeah and if I remember to bring the tablette!

In the meantime, I’m hoping all y’all are well & happy, and I’m wishing every one of you a blessed Christmas season. And Hannukah.  And Kwanzaa.  And FESTIVUS!

As a little gift, here’s a few groovy articles about the awesome power of knitting:

Knitting Is More Important Than Homework

Men knitting in prison learn life lessons

Knitting in prison: group of male inmates ready for creative adventure

Men are getting hooked on knitting and the craft culture is catching up

Bros and Rows: The Real History Of Men Who Knit

Yarn Boys in History

Ta!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

