Further stash enhancements

I warned you – I *REALLY* broke the yarn diet…with a bang!  I went to Nashville to drop Studmuffin & the Force of Nature off at the airport – they’re off to Cali for the fab trip with Grandmother. Since it was the morning, I decided to try to visit some stores we don’t have in my part of Abalama-ding-dong & see some friends. There WILL be a separate review of the yarn store I went to since this is meant to be a quick post (yes, Virginia, there really are quick posts…..).

Here we go!

1 skein of Plymouth Jelli Beenz 75% acrylic, 25% wool 214 yds

1 skein of Crystal Palace yarns’ Danube DK, 40% Nylon, 30% Rayon, 30% Wool 163 yards

Eisaku Noro should either be completely furious or immensely flattered by all of the copying of his color sequences by loads of other yarn companies……

1 skein of Diversity by Plymouth Yarn, Fingering / 4 ply, 93% Acrylic, 7% Polyester, 420 yards

I was halfway looking for some Tardis blue sock yarn or some really groovy self-striping yarn. This cover both bases.  YAY! There was a sample sock of this in another colorway that sold me on trying this – acrylic sock yarn!

1 skein of Revel by Plymouth Yarn, Lace / 2 ply, 85% Alpaca, 15% Merino, 275 yards

I don’t know that I would call this laceweight; I do call it gorgeous!

1 skein of Blue Faced Leicester DK by Debbie Bliss, DK / 8 ply, 100% Wool, 118 yards

I was having a SUPREMELY difficult time choosing the yarns to adopt – the yarn fumes*  were very nearly fatal to my bank account! So I decided to use my old trick: choose only yarns I have not previously used/bought.  I used just buy from companies I hadn’t tried before, but this time it was mostly yarn lines I hadn’t used before.  This was one of the exceptions – though I have a couple of her publications, I’ve never bought any of Debbie Bliss’ yarns before. I have a soft spot for BFL yarns I admit.  This may end up as part of a Fake Isle Hat.

10 mini skeins of Rekor Mini by Plymouth Yarn, Sport / 5 ply, 100% Acrylic, 39 yards

Yes I know – more acrylic!  But acrylic is so much better than even 5 years ago….. I’m thinking these are gonna be a part of a handbag I want to make.  My trip to India really changed my feeling about color for the better!!

1 skein of Arroyo by Malabrigo Yarn, Sport / 5 ply, 100% Merino, 335 yards, color: Candomble

I will ALWAYS be a Malabrigo junkie. I tried raelly REALLY hard to leave this at the store…but I just COULD NOT DO IT.  And the name? Candomble is a religion based on African traditions with elements derived from Christianity, practiced chiefly in Brazil.  This may turn into yet another Tessie Lily Hat.

My favorite purchase of the day! So fabulous, it gets TWO photos!

1 skein of Taiyo Lace by Noro, Lace / 2 ply, 50% Cotton, 17% Wool, 17% Nylon, 16% Silk 920 yards

I want to make a shawl for someone I love very much & I have already bought the (super lovely silk) yarn for it but when I saw this, I had to reconsider EVERYTHING I KNOW TO BE TRUE.  I mean I hardly ever do anything with cotton as it’s very hard on my hands to knit or crochet anything of size with, but this is so lovely.  I had been wondering what Noro Taiyo yarn felt like – it comes in several different weights and lots of folks are doing groovy stuff with it.  I simply adore Noro Yarns colors but they can be kinda scratchy to work with & to wear.  This is like buttah (well ok, maybe not “buttah”  but WAY smoother than most other Noros).  I’ma have to knit a sizeable swatch from both yarns to truly decide; you gotta know that I NEVER swatch for a shawl, but I love this person SO much that nothing less than AMAZING will acceptable to me.  Perhaps there will be a poll to choose which onehere on de blog!

I’ll have to go back thru the last 5 or 10 posts to see if I posted the “weight loss rewards” stash additions of several months ago since I can’t remember if I shared them with y’all.  I think I didn’t & then there’s a number of things that I need to take photos of – yes knitted things! So there will be some catching up to do.  Hope yer enjoying the renewed focus on knitting – I can’t tell as there have not been many (ok – ANY) comments but I’m not complaining….not really. But it fills my heart with bubbles of happiness & rainbows when you do!

 

 

8 comments

  1. Just an FYI. I love the Arroyo and have made a sweater out of the same colorway. It isn’t actually candomble. There isn’t the L making it Candombe, a style of music and dance from Uruguay.

Comments are closed.