This blog pause brought to you by….

…..a lack of FOCUS!

unfocusblur

No, this is not a picture of me……it is how i am *feeling*……

Y’all truly deserve a *real* post by me, but it isn’t in the cards this time around.  I guess this is a “snapshot” of right now:

  • I broke my yarn diet…TWICE in 2 weeks.  I figure I’ve been REALLY good for 18 months so I wanted to get some new yarn! In total, I got 4 skeins of sock yarn: 1 NORO Silk Garden Sock,  1 Regia Fluormania & 2 Naturally Waikiwi (ya need two skeins for 1 pair of socken), & 2 skeins of laceweight: 1 Madelintosh Prairie in Clematis, & 1 Maharashtra Silk in Navy.  I guess I want to make socks & shawls…..You can see pictures on Ravelry.com in my stash section……
  • I’m currently working on a Shaelyn shawl in  Madelinetosh Prairie in a gorgeous semi-solid dark blue.  I’m enjoying it so much, it put me over the top to buy the aforementioned M’tosh Prairie in Clematis
  • portrait-unfocused
  • more knitting is happening b/c the kitten is growing up.  This is very happymaking!
  • no pics ‘cos the camera is misplaced….again.
  • Instead of huge amounts of yarn, I’m buying loads of sewing patterns & fabric, so I will begin a fabric & pattern fast….soon.
  • Not much sewing is happening….at all.
  • I’ve bought 3 quilting books & 1 quilting magazine in the last month.
  • And more quilting fabric. Like enough to make my dream quilt for my bed.
  • And batting for baby blankets…..  I think I have a problem.
  • My therapist has been difficult to get ahold of……
  • scale
  • I have been reading many, many sewing blogs. This *has* to STOP!
  • I’ve broken through my writer’s block on my book, so a good deal of progress is being made. Yay!
  • My weight loss has slowed way way down, mainly because of the mobility problems, but also b/c I’ve learned how to cheat really well.  This *has* to STOP!
  • Total weight lost since Jan. ’14 – 43 lbs.
  • I cannot believe it has been FIVE years since Michael Jackson died….
  • And now Bobby Womack is gone . :::sigh:::
  • catfocus
  • Am reading a wonderful biography right now called: I’ll Take You There: Mavis Staples, the Staple Singers, and the March up Freedom’s Highway by Greg Kot; I **HIGHLY*** recommend this book if you like soul or gospel music.  If you are not familiar with Mavis Staples/the Staples Singers, I STRONGLY suggest you drop everything & get to listening!
  • The Force of Nature is now a certified lifeguard.  I knew she could do it!
  • Parenting teenagers is a thankless job.  The last 2 weeks were particularly thankless….
  • unfocused_fireworks_by_challengeaccepted-d56jv0p
  • My garden is all kind of peally-wally b/c I’ve been neglecting it (see mobility issues).  Still the tomatoes will begin their inundation in a couple of weeks God willing.
  • I’ve been thinking about ending my blog.  Is seven or eight years enough?  Does anybody care? Do I?  I dunno….
  • I really love Kiva.org , Indiegogo & Kickstarter.
  • The One Human Family Workshop Choir is going on tour in August!  First time in nine years……
  • picture13383986286580

I have so much more to write about everything here but Studmuffin & I are taking the Force of Nature to dinner to celebrate the lifeguardiness.  The Duke of Curl is over at a friend’s house playing video games.

So, how are YOU?

BLOG-Focus-image-300x300

3 comments

  1. Well I’ve been buying lots of fabric too. I happened in to Nashville’s Textile Fabrics during they semi annual 50% of sale. I went in for a single pattern and came out with a while lot more. Mainly a nice rustic Mexican liking cotton for a new bedspread. Of course it lead to buying more coordinating fabric for edges and backing. Then 10 days later I was on Nashville again and bought many yards of linen. Then Fabric Mart sent out an email about a sale on knits and I bought 5 different knit fabrics.
    But I have been sewing though. Linen pants, cotton batik top in the past week. Today I drafted a pattern for a knit dress. Tomorrow I will cut and sew it. (I am making myself learn to use my serger.) I have also been collecting tyvek feed sacks to see my own grocery sacks.
    AND all the while I am doing this I am planning groovy felted wraps and coats.

    BTW losing 43 pounds is to be applauded it’s not easy to lose weight for extended periods of time. Hang in there.

  2. Here’s hoping for peace and focus. It sounds like there is a lot going on for you. That little gem, “Don’t mistake the urgent for the important,” or something like that is what I have to say to myself when my wheels are spinning, I’m busy, I’m tired, but it seems like I’m not accomplishing much, and the piles keep on piling. I’m sure you will find what is right for you.

Comments are closed.