Keyhole garden pictures

It’s a lovely day so this will be mostly pictures.  🙂

my homemade pea tower standing proudly

my homemade pea tower standing proudly

finished keyhole garden

finished keyhole garden – The reed fencing surrounding the garden was suggested by Studmuffin so that the neighbors would not think I was building a garbage dump.  The fencing cost about $25 and was by FAR the most expensive part of the process.

the Force of Nature's Strawberry plant

the Force of Nature’s Strawberry plant.  The sides are supported by old electrical conduit (here on the property when we bought the house) wire fencing tomato cages (extra stuff from when we made them 10+ years ago) and scavenged cardboard.  There are a few concrete blocks that I don’t know where they came from….maybe Studmuffin bought ’em? Maybe they were here when we moved in? I don’t know….. Oh yeah and zip ties.  I did buy those – like $4 for 150.

The "basket" - approx. 1' diameter composting/watering tube

The “basket” – approx. 1′ diameter composting/watering tube – all of our compostable kitchen scraps now go in here

A view from above thanks to the Duke of Curl

A view from above thanks to the Duke of Curl – oh yeah, the straw mulch – we bought that.  but we buy between 2 – 5 bales every year, so I didn’t figure that into the costs.

"Juliet" grape tomato - planted on April 6th.  It has DOUBLED in size in this week.  I'll try to take a picture today.....

“Juliet” grape tomato – planted on April 6th. It has DOUBLED in size in this week. I’ll try to take a picture today…..  I did take a few more pictures along the way which seemed to have gotten deleted by accident (grrrrrrrrrrr).  After  saying over & over & over that I need to take more pictures – I finally gave that up when I decided to use my limited energy to build it, rather than document it.

one of 2 'border' nasturtiums.  I have difficulty in growing these from seed. But I love them: they trail, they keep away bad bugs AND you can eat them in a salad.

one of 2 ‘border’ nasturtiums. I have difficulty in growing these from seed. But I love them: they trail, they keep away bad bugs AND you can eat them in a salad.

The caged tomato

The caged tomato – the strawberry plant is on the other side of the basket to the far right (not in picture)

The Force of Nature's foot.....ummm...yeah...tthe kids & I take foot pictures. We think it's funny.

The Force of Nature’s foot…..ummm…yeah…the kids & I take foot pictures. We think it’s funny.

Extreme marigold close up : marigold are a wonderful thing to plant I think.  I got these on sale, they help keep away bad bugs, and they reassure my husband that I'm actually gardening and not just hoarding cardboard.

Extreme marigold close up : marigold are a wonderful thing to plant I think. I got these on sale, they help keep away bad bugs, and they reassure my husband that I’m actually gardening and not just hoarding cardboard.

Marigold <3

Marigold ❤

This garden is chest high on me.  I planted a bunch of seeds: cucumbers, sunflowers, zucchini, summer squash and corn.  Some of the clever birds around her have already discovered the corn....so I have added a string tied from the side to the tomato cage with a dangly CD to scare them off.  Hope it works.

This garden is chest high on me. I planted a bunch of seeds too: cucumbers, sunflowers, zucchini, summer squash and corn. Some of the clever birds around here have already discovered the corn….so I have added a string tied from the side to the tomato cage with a dangly CD to scare them off. Hope it works –  it looks VERY trashy….  🙂

The Force of Nature - almost 15 years old: one of my 3 favoritest things I've grown EVER!!!

The Force of Nature – almost 15 years old: one of my 3 favoritest things I’ve grown EVER!!!

2 comments

  1. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

Comments are closed.