The Twerps are DONE!!

I haven’t written about them yet because my keyboard is either acting up or dying; I can’t seem to figure out which!  It makes it rather more challenging to type…..

So here’s the deets:

Ravelry link
Photobucket

Terpander by Melissa Morgan-Oakes

from the book Sock Knitting Master Class

Yarn: Bugga!  – sport weight,

                    – 70% superwash merino, 20% cashmere, 10% nylon 

                    – 412 yds

by the Sanguine Gryphon (which is now The Verdant Gryphon and Cephalopod Yarns)

Colorway: Purple Spotted Swallowtail

Needles: Addi Lace US size 0 (2.0 mm)

Begun: October 15, 2011

Finished: February 10, 2012

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Started knitting these as part of a Knit A Long (KAL) on Ravelry and I really wanted to do them right!  This pattern calls for knitting them 2 at a time from the toe up.  I have done both techniques, but not at the same time.  My feet are way bigger than the pattern calls for, plus my tension is loose so I ended up casting on & re-knitting the toes about 5 times!

Version 2 or 3 or 4 maybe?

I think these were the first try. Look at that awful toe on the left!

I think these were the 1st ones. Look at that wackjob toe on the left!

I never did get the toes right; the fit is a bit baggy.  I eventually decided to just move on and try to keep up with KAL.  I actually punctured my right index finger with the knitting needles – OW!!  That slowed my progress somewhat until I got some Liquid Bandage at the drug store.  I had a bit of trouble with the pattern until I finally took 2 minutes and color coded the chart – then it was a breeze!  But then, the HEEL!

Photobucket

Close up of the pattern in progress

The heel got re-knit about 4.5 or 5 times – a few times before Christmas and a few times after Christmas.  I’ve never really liked the “flap” heel. I’ve gotten over my “it LOOKS weird” thing that I used to have, but I’m just not a fan of the fit in general, so I tried a couple of different short-row heels – finally ending up with the Sweet Tomato Heel by Cat Bordhi.  I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this heel and it fits my feet well!  I watched the video several times and got the idea and plugged it in.   I eventually did buy the e-book, but truly you can learn it without the ebook because her instructions are very clear.

I know that I could have done it better – integrating the heel and the pattern – but by this time I just wanted them DONE and I took them everywhere I went!  Finally I used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-Off for the first time and put them on because it was really cold in the house – OH MY!  So wonderful they are! The calf part of the sock is on the tight side but I’m really liking that because the socks don’t fall down!  And they are not too tight at all.

The yarn is so good – not just the colors – which really do look like the butterfly:

but the feel and the heft of the yarn is fabulous – you *know* I’m crazy about cashmere.  I WILL get more of this yarn….when I go off the yarn diet again!  The yarn is labeled as “sport weight” and I guess it is…..maybe more of a heavy fingering weight IMO.  I wanna try the Skinny Bugga! if I can get some and see how I like that in comparision.

Toe up socks are great because you knit til you run out of yarn.  I wasn’t completely out, but I wanted to have a little on hand for hexi-puffs and/or darning later. The 2-at-a-time thing is somewhat fiddly but good because when yer done – yer done and have a pair of socks, plus you don’t have to keep notes to make the socks identical as you do when knitting them one at a time.  The bind off is a very good one & I will be using it on pretty much all my toe-up socks from now on.  So I think this is a very successful pair of socks!

The Addi Lace needles are perhaps a little too pointy for this project – I never imagined I’d ever say that- but I would catch the tips in the yarn and leave hanging loops far too often for my taste. Then again, the pointy tips were great for executing the pattern.  The cable on this needle gave me fits because of twisting & kinking but I think it has to do with how small the diameter of the cable is and how very long it is, combined with my knitting style rather than any manufacturing problem or defect.

I blocked them on the sock blockers I just bent out of some dry cleaner coat hangers (I call them “cracker blockers”) and they came out so NICE!

Photobucket

Colors are quite accurate. Sorry - I don't haveany pics of them on my giant feet!

I was so happy to get these suckas done….and then I immediately began to miss them.  Waited three days, then cast on for another pair of socks….which are already done.  I’ll blog about those in a few days. Now how’s THAT for a proper project post?

One comment

  1. Yay! I love them! They are so pretty, and I am ever so happy that they are your socks!

    Wha? Another pair done already? You are on a roll!

Comments are closed.