NaKniSweMo & an actual finished object

Yup – It started today and I totally forgot about it. National Knit A Sweater Month began and I didn’t even think about it. Of course SARAH did, ‘cos she’s awesome.

This is not my garage nor my picture...but it is very much like my garage!ht

I haven’t even unearthed last year’s attempt from the junk heap that is my garage. Our garage has never been this messy before, but then again we’ve never re-done a room before (have I mentioned that we’ve been doing the Duke of Curl’s room….since AUGUST?!).  I cannot say that we have started this endeavor auspiciously…perhaps we will improve. It’s so bad out there in the garage/storage/ fabric & yarn stash that:

1) to complete the Force of Nature’s Halloween costume via sewing machine I had to put up a table in the living room and import said machine from out there,

and

2) I, who have a rather obnoxiously large stash of fingering weight yarn, have been buying black fingering weight yarn to make some family Christmas gifts because I’m a little afraid to rummage in the pile o’ stuff at the moment.

This coming weekend, if it does not rain, we must attack the garage…or rather, set it to rights (not do it physical harm). I say this with no small amount of trepidation, because there is a rather good chance that Studmuffin will have a much better appreciation for the size of the yarn stash and how it has grown. He’s off in California for the week, and he did take with him his practice swatch to work on at night. Hopefully, all will go really well with his knitting and he’ll not be threatened by the stash but maybe even EMBRACE its luxuriant abundance……

I do have a finished object to share with you, but it is very late and I’ve already put it on Ravelry AND another blog, so I’ll have you click on over there. Click on ze picture below to see the mittens.

embroidered mittens for a little girl

2 comments

  1. Go you with NaKniSweMo! I’ve been observing NaNoWriMo from the sidelines for a few years now, to the point of actually kicking around the idea of doing it this year, or at least writing a non-novel e-book in November and just using the madness as encouragement. I kind of got distracted by other things, got all reinspired, got tired, procrastinated, and finally started the thing… then realized it was Nov. 1! So I guess I’m playing after all.

  2. Awww! You’re too kind, Helen!

    That is a lot on your plate. I hope the weather cooperates for you and that he does embrace the luxuriant abundance of the stash.

    I love those mittens! They’re so cute, and I love the embroidery. The beads are especially nice!

    xo

Comments are closed.