Actual knitting content…sort of.

In an effort to get blogging re-started and to provide some writing that relates to knitting somehow, I’m taking part in “Knitting Crochet Blog Week”. Of course I’m doing it MY way: a week late. Anybody surprised? Everyday this week I’ll blog in response to a question NOT made up by me. A big thanks to eskimimiknits for starting this off!

So here’s the banner:

And here’s the first topic:

How and when did you begin knitting/crocheting? was it a skill passed down through generations of your family, or something you learned from Knitting For Dummies? What or who made you pick up the needles/hook for the first time? Was it the celebrity knitting ‘trend’ or your great aunt Hilda?

My grandmother taught me how to do both when I was 6 or 7.  She knitted a great deal, as so many of her generation did, up there in chilly New England.  I was always doing crafty things and I guess she must have noticed my interest and decided to teach me.  She had what people call a “difficult personality” and was not reknowned for her patience by any stretch of the imagination (read the older posts with the tag “Riding With Mother”  written by her daughter/my mother for more on that topic), so I’m thinking I must have caught on quickly.  I really don’t remember too much about the whole process except that when learning to crochet, she got me this kit with yarn to make 2 berets:  one a magenta purple and the other O.D. green (this was the mid-1970’s).  We started on the green one, and it was horrible.  The yarn was SO splitty and it was all single crochet…..even my VERY frugal grammy eventually agreed that I didn’t have to finish it.

Grammy hands

I don't have a picture of her hands, but they looked a LOT like this.

As tough a person as she was,  she made mittens for us most every year, and even made a couple of sweaters for my oldest child which I have kept.  She passed away almost 12 years ago, but I think of her very often.  Thank you so much, Grammy, for everything.

One comment

Comments are closed.