Pneumonia and Google reader

Think back just a few days ago when I was just merely sick with the flu; I’ve since been diagnosed with pneumonia. Not bad enough to slap me into the hospital, but bad enough for me to ask my family to come back early from West Virginia. The giant pills I’ve been taking are working – I *am* better – but I am still coughing BIG.

not my xray, but ya get the idea

So whilst I was unable to sleep lying down because of all the fluid in my lungs, I watched some tv and spent hours on the ‘puter. One would think that this would be a great time to catch up with my Google Reader and read those 1000+ blog posts that have been piling and piling up.

But NO! This did not occur….because, friends and neighbors, I was too sick to knit – even”stupid knitting” was beyond me – much less read and comprehend blog posts. Also, it seems this situation on GR is intimidating me: I haven’t been reading the posts because I am afraid to start reading and get “sucked in” to the ‘puter, and yet I am also afraid to unsubscribe to a single blog to reduce the number of posts.

So I have decided that I must start scheduling GR time and create a new habit, like if I spent 20 – 30 minutes daily reading the newspaper, I will now spend 20 – 30 minutes reading blog posts.

Because of the pnuemonia, the “tennis-ball” removal has been postponed for a couple of weeks; still my mother is coming today because of her non-refundable plane ticket. She’s going to stay here at the “White Trash Hoedown Hotel” – she offered to sleep on the couch. That’d be fine, ‘cept the couch regularly has spring trouble: after several years of regularly been flopped on by giant boychiks (even after they were ****repeatedly****  scolded for doing so), the clips that hold the springs in place have lost their integrity and we can put them back in place which lasts for a time…..but soon there will be a decided sag/ hole to the floor in the middle. So we decided to put her in the Force of Nature’s room. We cleaned it up a bit, got some new sheets, and then Studmuffin decided to shampoo the carpet. This was a good idea because the carpet was dirty. However, this was also a bad idea because for a while there, Bluto (r.i.p.) and Kali peed in that room whenever they got the chance and shampooing the carpet stirred all that smell back up. On top o’ that, my mother has a very keen nose so I dunno what I’m gonna do.  Hospitality ‘r’ us alright……

Wish me luck.  🙂

One comment

  1. This is an order from multiple Sarahs: GET WELL AND STAY WELL!

    We hope you can make it out next Wednesday for Cast-On-Eve!

Comments are closed.