Today is a holiday / happy day / holy day for me and 6 MILLION others

It was on this day in 1817 that Mirza Husayn Ali was born.  Later on, He became known by the Arabic title “The Glory of the Lord” or more commonly, “The Glory of God”:  Baha’u’llah.

Why am I telling you this?

‘Cos as an Interwebs kinda-person, I’m guessing you have:

  • natural curiosity
  • an interest and love of learning

So in the interest of spreading information, I’m giving you a spoonful of education.  It won’t hurt a bit. 🙂

So, yeah. There’s about 6 million Baha’is all over the planet and you’ve never heard of us…or maybe just barely.  Well, stories about people who are into unity and happiness, praying, doing good deeds, world peace, justice, teaching children’s classes and so on don’t sell newspapers.  But that is how it is everywhere.  I mean, only approximately 10% of the world’s Muslims are from the Middle East, and a tiny fraction of those (the  crackpot brigade as I call them) are doing terrible things, but you wouldn’t know that from the news, wouldya?  You don’t hardly ever hear about the 99.9% of Muslims who are regular, decent people…..but I digress a bit.

Here’s a few links that tell more about today:

I didn’t go to the local Baha’i community celebration last night; Studmuffin is not a Baha’i and asked that we stay home, so we did. My dear friend, Ellen, invited me to her home in Tennessee (just north of Florence, Alabama) today and I was planning to go there, but the Duke of Curl is sick toda,  so no go. Still, as a holy day, no work and no school so YAY!

I’ll leave you with one of my favorite quotes from the Baha’i Scriptures:

The best way to thank God is to love each other.

and a song, written by another Baha’i (Matthew Levine), with a nice video.

Have a sweet day!

 

 

2 comments

Comments are closed.