I’ve absolutely got to….

….cast on for some socks or something very soon!  I’m making mittens for some friends, and I’ve always got the Noro scarf, but I need something with more ooomph to it…like maybe a lace scarf or something.

So yesterday (my 40th birthday)  I scored some 400 yds of laceweight cashmere for my secret pal…but it was entirely the wrong color:

dscn1067_004My pal likes darker colors, but the  helpful knitfiends, er employees at Yarn Expressions encouraged me to dye it, so I did.dscn1070_007dscn1071_008dscn1072_009I  used 1 package each of red and black hoping to get a very dark red or maroon….

What i got was:

dscn1085_022

It’s a little bit redder than this.  It isn’t quite what I wanted, but it’s OK.  My pal is allergic to wool, and I think I’ll make her something lovely….maybe even something lacy and beaded with it (Like maybe Ice Queen).  Since it was the last day of the Yarn Expressions’ big winter sale, it was a bargain even adding in the cost of the dye.

dscn1082_019 For my birthday, my darling friend Meg took me to lunch on Thursday and that was wonderful; my dear friend Bethany sent me a gift certificate to Knit Picks (YAY!!!); we had our usual once a month Game night with friends on Friday night – Thursday was my wonderful friend Niki’s birthday as well so we celebrated at Game Night by wearing crazy hats (my camera wasn’t working, but I’ll get pix from someone else), for which I made Red Velvet cupcakes (which are really *reallY* delicious and disappearing….).  I got many  emails and phone calls from friends (thank you everyone) and my brother Max even called me and we had an actual conversation (which is probably one of the best gifts I’ve EVER gotten)  and then I took myself to see “Twilight” for a second time all by myself (and I had just enough change to buy a bag of Raisinets)  which was WAY fun.  I think I will take Ian to see it with me next week……

Then last night, I went onto Ravelry and I sent a happy birthday message to every single Raveler who shares my birthday.  I thought there would only be a few; there were well over two hundred!  More than half of them wrote back too;  I just LOVE us fiber folks.

Plus I’ve been taking my “hated” medicine for over a week, but even tho’ I don’t like the side effects, I CAN BREATHE and because I can breathe, I can sleep.  I am very, very blessed.

AND on top of ALL of THAT: Friday, I  received a wonderful super fantabulous package from my “upstream”  secret pal but that deserves a whole post of its own with pictures…which I will write tomorrow.  :o)

One comment

  1. Happy Birthday! I turned 40 back in October, and I must say that so far it’s been a great year.

    I’m kind of sad that I’m not the intended recipient of that cashmere…

Comments are closed.