Free-hee-hee-hee-dom!

The children are all gone away. I don’t have to tell anybody to brush their teeth, or pick up anything, and no fighting over the computer. No one is bugging anybody else. I can’t hardly BELIEVE it.

So for the next few days I will be doing some simple recording that I need to do and cleaning the kids’ rooms. Then on Thursday its off to North Carolina. What fun! 

I’m debating with myself about what to say about my oldest son, Will. This could turn into a *serious* whinge!  But I’ll try to restrain myself.   He’s gone to NYC to be with his girlfriend with only the most tenuous of plans for taking care of himself (i.e. a place to stay, a job, money, etc.), and regardless of what anyone with a smidgen of experience might advise. We got a call from his girlfriend’s mother telling us that he he did arrive safely (almost 24 hrs by train) but that he and her daughter’s first plan for where he was gonna stay fell through and they were looking into hotels….  I’m worried for his welfare and hopeful that he’ll be OK and relieved that he’s gone and about 15 other emotions.  Please pray for us. Thanks.
—-

On Saturday, I got my first installment of Sundara Yarn. OH! OH! OH!  1000 yards of 100% silk laceweight in the color “Granite Falls” ; a beautiful light grey with a tinge of green.  So so so gorgeous.  After some fairly serious fondling, I put it back in its crinkly plastic bag and  went about my business.  Later on, I discovered that the dogs had gotten into it, because they know that often times, crinkly plastic bags that belong to Mommy have goodies in them.  They didn’t do serious damage but sheesh!
Yesterday, I took a yarn dyeing class at

It was really fun.  We got to dye two skeins of superwash sock yarn.  Today, I’ll rinse out my yarn and put it up to dry.  Then I’ll wind it up and see what I have.  I would love to do this again.

Then after I got home, Bill wanted to go out to dinner. July 7th is our 20th wedding anniversary.  We will be in West Virginia, so we won’t be doing anything big, so we are treating these few days without the bairns as our anniversary celebration.    We futzed around for about an hour tryna decide where to go and we finally settled on Ketchup at Bridge Street Town Center.  I was intrigued by the fact that there are only two Ketchup restaurants on the planet right now: one in Los Angeles and one in Huntsville.  What’s up with that?  it makes me laugh – somebody sold the h*ll out of Bridge STreet Town Center….

I encourage EVERYONE to go there to eat.  The food was excellent!!!  The atmosphere was great, the service was good, and the red toilet paper was unique.  I’m looking forward to taking the kids there to eat for lunch.  We paid about $30 per person and it was worth it.  I could hardly believe I was in A-ba-lama-ding-dong.  I want to try all of the restaurants over there now.

 

One comment

  1. What, no pictures??? Come on, hook us up out here in vicarious-land!
    I’m really glad to hear your dogs didn’t ruin your new yarn. Enjoy your freedom with the kids gone! And yikes, that sounds like quite a situation with your son. I hope it works out. But I’m sure he’ll land on his feet–I know a lot of people who regularly leap before they look, and somehow it always works out for them. It’s just nerve-wracking on their mothers in the meantime.

Comments are closed.