My husband called…..

….to tell me he has to spend an extra day in California… Joy.  I’m still awake because I cannot sleep-too much coughing and wheezing.  Last night I finally gave up about 4 am and came out into the living room to sleep sitting upright in the “round chair”.


My round chair looks almost exactly like this one.  However, this one isn’t repaired with a length of bright blue rope….

I have fallen asleep in that chair a number of times before; it’s just a little hard on my neck. Right now, Boris is in it, and I haven’t the heart to kick him out of it.

I am on the mend, though.  Today, I was actually able to take a shower, put gas in the van and take the dogs (very briefly) across the street., though I did cancel rehearsal which I *hate* to do.    I haven’t taken much in the way of cold medicines in the last 24 hours and my nose has stopped dripping incessantly. Is this the flu?  I haven’t been this ill in a good long while.  Perhaps tomorrow I can homeschool Ian again……

In the meantime, I’ve been catching up on paperwork, mending, and a few long-overdue swaps.  I want to have everything done by the time of the Wings to the Spirit conference (beginning of May).  It’s gonna be so terrific!!  I’ve got to finish reading “Mirror of the Divine” by Ludwig Tuman before then.  It’s a wonderful book; there’s so much for my brain to tease apart and ponder on that I’m going slowly.

Since my “brain event” happened almost 3 years ago, the way I learn is really, really different than before. I know there are folks out there who think that it’s just age, or too much stress or lack of focus, but I assure you it is not.  There is a marked difference in how I thought and learned before and now.  I guess the best analogy I can come up with is losing one’s virginity – there’s a very distinct before and after. Unfortunately, (or it could be fortunately ) no one else is inside my head so I do not have any kind of objective corroboration of the changes.  It is much harder for me to learn new things – like 10 times as hard as it was before, and my concentration is fragile at best.  So trying to truly absorb this book is much more of an effort than in previous times.  This makes me sad because I am not doing nearly as much “serious reading” as I have done in the past, and at some point I want to go back to college.  I have had to stop buying heavy duty Baha’i books because I am not reading the ones I have already, but my intellectual curiosity remains high so I keep trying.  I’m not complaining, it’s more that I’m explaining.

I was boating about the Internet and I found the blog and flickr site of one of the people I met while on pilgrimage.  On Sholeh’s blog, she has some really wonderful pictures, plus links to some truly wonderful sites.

Tired of reading what passes for news these days? Too depressing? Try this site: http://2inspire.us/

Oh well, off to bed.  I hope I sleep.

One comment

  1. I went into Sholeh’s blog. As you said, her pictures are excellent-she has a good eye
    for color,line and subject!
    I was there for a little while this am…and now
    I feel I’ve been away so long. How can that be when I was recently there? Well, you understand. Hope you feel some better today.

Comments are closed.