A fairly strange thing happened…..

Last Friday, the UPS man came by with packages. That in and of itself is not so strange; he often comes by to deliver things and my dog Natasha loves to bark her head off at him and/or the brown UPS truck (she hates them for some reason). So these two big boxes came and I was thinking to myself, “Wow. Your brain is degenerating even faster than you know!” because I couldn’t remember buying that much of anything, like, ever. I do order things and then immediately forget about it but they are small things like a skein of yarn, a book, a cd, etc., and the last thing I remembered ordering was a magazine.

Once I got these large boxes inside, I glanced at the sender’s address: Interweave Press. Well, that whom I had ordered the magazine from! Did I win something? I was a little excited, and so were the kids. Louisa was saying loudly, ‘I thought we didn’t have any money right now!” and I agreed that it was true; cashflow right now is down to a trickle…..

I opened the boxes and found a packing slip: it was almost $500.00 worth of knitting books that was supposed to be sent to a yarn store in Georgia. Ian was all for my looking through the books – there were some in there that I really wanted to see, but I was a good bunny and didn’t. And the magazine that I ordered from them also arrived but in the post.

On Monday, I called Interweave Press and described what had happened. They said they’d arrange to have the “evil brown truck” come back and pick them up in a couple of days, which did happen.

My little devil that sits on my shoulder keeps asking, “What if you hadn’t called them? What if you had kept the books? it wasn’t your mistake,” and so forth. I know what would happen – I wouldn’t be able to sleep and my dishonesty would haunt me for the rest of my life; it’d be like stealing. But I do wonder just a bit; the person I spoke to at IP didn’t even say, “Thank you for your honesty,” or “Sorry for the inconvenience,” or even”Thank you for calling us.” I mean, I did just find almost $500 worth of books and I think I should’ve been thanked….just a little.

It sure was weird to receive those books though. On a practical level, it was a silly shipping mistake, but on a deeper level I wonder why the universe sent that shipment to me?

I must say, tonight I think it was the first time I’ve ever had to cancel choir rehearsal on account of SNOW. Like John Prine says, “It’s a big ole goofy world.”

<cross posted to my LJ (and you can hear the song there too)>

5 comments

  1. Not even a thank you??? How rude!!!

    You were a good bunny and did the right thing. And what goes around comes around. So feel good!

  2. That is weird! I know that I would have been tempted to keep the books, though. You did do the right thing by calling them, of course. As a manager I certainly would have thanked you in some way. Afterall, you just saved them from a $500 mistake on their part.

  3. Wow, I would have been tempted to keep those books too. What a weird coincidence, if you think about it. What are the odds a knitter would have got those books. It is good you are giving them back, that might have hurt a small business to take a loss like that. They are lucky you are such a nice person 🙂

  4. I was once told that if you do something like keeping those books or lying about being entitled to a discount, then your knitting will be forever cursed with a multitude of inane mishaps and mistakes! Definetely better that you called them. Although, you’d think they’d reward you with a gift subscription to one of their mags or something. Then again, they probably have insurance, so that it would make no difference to them one way or the other! Still, good for you, being so honest!

Comments are closed.