Rules are made to be broken, n’est-ce pas?

So, ok, took Bill to the airport – he’s off to Los Angeles for a week or two ( I won’t know til about Thursday), and – like the fool that I am – went to Hancock Fabrics and…….

………………….bought yarn.

It’s true – it’s for an afghan for the family couch. The last one I made – a single, giant crocheted granny square- has has bits cut out of it by several helpful children who live here. SO I retired it until I can fix the cut bits and I’ll either give it to Will at college or to Goodwill. Plus it didn’t match my couch. Although it is the LARGEST project I had ever done knit or crochet-wise, it was getting to the point where I didn’t like the sight of the thing….not a good place to be in with one’s own fiber creations. So I’ve been thinking about a new afghan….

Then, Lion Brand yarn has the temerity to send me this rather beautifully photographed spring catalog of patterns and yarn. I guess they are really tryna step up their game….and it’s working. I found an afghan pattern I liked! Wow. Didn’t see that coming.

Today, we were on the Hancock Fabric side of town and I vaguely remembered two things: someone said they were having a sale, and they sell Lion Yarn. So again like the fool I be I went to check it out.

Turns out, all their knitting stuff is on sale for 30% off thru Thursday (I know I won’t be over here again *that* soon….) and….I found another one of those Lion catalogs someone had left behind. It was for Fall/Winter, so as I opened it up I told myself if the afghan wasn’t in there, I wasn’t supposed to have it.

It was there. Shoot.

So I went and got a cart and got….more yarn. It’s for the family, right?

Started the afghan today – a fun “stupid” knit: dead easy on ginormous needles. This is the pattern: Glowing Colors afghan
(you may have to register to see the pattern). Even the kids think it looks and feels good. We’ll see how it goes……

I do feel a little bit bad for breaking my resolution (heck we’re just HALFWAY thru January), but 30% off is 30% off and so blah blah.

I did also get the yarn to make my Hogwarts Sock Kit Swap 4 bag for my partner. I’m gonna make a felted tote for her – more fun stupid knitting, and also 30% off in all the right colors too. Yippee! I’m almost relieved about that. Since this is a secret swap, I cannot tell you what my Hogwarts name is, but I can tell you that I am in Gryffindor. If you like to knit socks, and are into Harry Potter and silly fun- you definitely need to sign up for the next one!

Hope to put up some current FO and WiP pics very soon. In the meantime, I’ll leave you with the final pics of the blocked Bird in Hand mittens.

*crossposted to the other blog*

3 comments

  1. Gorgeous mittens! I’m doing them too, slowly 🙂 I can’t wait to see the pics of the afghan, I jsut don’t have the stamina for thinkgs like that.

  2. Thanks so much Jenny. I will definitely make these mittens again. I gotta tell you this afghan is SO fast I can’t even believe it. I usually do only small projects, but I started this thing yesterday and the first panel is already almost 30″ long. Size 17 needles and doubled bulky yarn are supa fast! I’d definitely recommend it – it’s way easier than socks!

    Speaking of which, I gotta drop the afghan to start on socks for my Death By Socks partner. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. You left your pattern at B&N last night. I have it though if you need the color sequence you wrote down? It is looking really awesome by the way.

Comments are closed.