In love with a scarf pattern……

Yesterday, I cast on for Brooke’s Column of Leaves scarf. I want to make one for my niece for Christmas. It looks nice and the pattern looks like I might be able to memorize it (an 8 row repeat). Then I could make several…give them away or whatever.

So first I used some Caron’s Simply Soft in grey heather I had lyin’ around….

I knew I wouldn’t be using this for my niece’s scarf – it isn’t wool so it isn’t warm enough. It may get finished anyhow.

So, off to Yarn Expressions I went ( I wanted to get a few other things too… Noro Kureyon to go with the Silk Garden I got from my swap pal, and stuff for gloves for my DH and mittens for Will).

I found some delicious Ultra Alpaca to make Emma’s scarf with

But it still wasn’t quite right (I haven’t cast this one on yet). I was thinking of another yarn……..

……which, as I was putting away yarn this afternoon when I got home, I found I already had on hand. Sheesh!

It’s a Lion Wool print – Ocean Blues

So I cast that on and started working on it….

I *love* the colors, but the leaf pattern is much more subtle. Plus this is scratchier than the alpaca……hmmmmm

I love the pattern tho- You’ll be seeing this one again.

