A mitten

I posted this to my LiveJournal already.

I finished something & took a picture!

Aren’t y’all proud of me? I’m making some mittens for a friend and I made up my own pattern for it.

My friend wanted mittens with *really long* cuffs, because even tho’ this is Alabama, she still gets cold in the winter. So the cuffs are about 6.5 inches long.

The yarn is DK merino superwash by Colinette – Cadenza in Bright Charcoal.

The colors in the photo are a little washed out unfortunately. I’ve not finished the other one becuase I want my friend to try it on first and see if it fits the way she wants it. If there’s interest, I may get ambitious and write up the pattern.

The front
the back

close up of cables (it’s a little hard to see but there are rope cables on either side of the braid.)

